The Grafton Public Library presents…

Pulitzer Prize Winners

Home  -  Hours  -  Book Chat Room -  Calendar  -  Reference  -  Contact Us


The following is a list of Pulitzer Prize winners available at the Grafton Public Library.

Fiction Titles from 1924

·      1924-The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson

·      1926-Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis

·      1928-The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thorton Wilder

·      1938-The Late George Apley by John P. Marquand

·      1948-Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener

·      1950-The Way West by A.B. Guthrie

·      1952-The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk

·      1953-The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

·      1956-Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor                         

·      1958-A Death in the Family by James Agee

·      1959-The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor

·      1961-To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee      

·      1962-The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor 

·      1963- The Reivers by Willam Faulkner      

·      1969-House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

·      1972-Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner

·      1976-Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow

·      1979-The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever

·      1985-Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie

·      1986-Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

·      1987-A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor

·      1988-Beloved by Toni Morrison

·      1989-Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

·      1992-A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley

·      1993-A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler

·      1994-The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx

·      1995-The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields

·      1996-Independence Day by Richard Ford

·      1997-Martin Dressler:  The Tale of an American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser

·      1998-American Pastoral by Philip Roth

·      1999-The Hours by Michael Cunningham

·      2001-The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

·      2002-Empire Falls by Richard Russo         

·      2003-Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

·      2004-The Known World by Edward P. Jones

·      2005-Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

·      2006-March by Geraldine Brooks

·      2007-The Road by Cormac McCarthy

·      2008-The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

·      2009-Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout


Non-Fiction Titles from 2009


·        2009 (History)-The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon-Reed

·        2009 (Biography)-American Lion by Jon Meacham







Reserve a Book

See a book that you’d like to read?  Send us an email or call us with the title and author and we’ll reserve it for you.